About Hobart Current

Hobart Current will nurture and showcase contemporary artists working across performance, music, film, design, visual art and literature.

Creative Director

February 2019

Rosie Dennis has been appointed. The theme she has chosen is 'liberty'.


August 2019

Ten artists will be commissioned to create new works in various art forms.


March 2021

The inaugural exhibition has been postponed and will now commence in March 2021 in Hobart.

Creative director Rosie Dennis and liberty

'This theme can be interpreted globally and locally, as celebrating the nation as a whole or a neighbourhood. I’m interested in sparking a fuller conversation about who chooses freedom for whom, in what space and during what time.'

Hobart Current Timeline

March 2020

Artist update

Liberty Artists - Video Blog Check-ins

Over the last six months our ten artists have been working away on their artworks for Hobart Current: Liberty

Liberty is the inaugural Hobart Current exhibition and it opens in March 2021. View the artists' progress thus far and gain an intriguing insight into their visions and process in these video updates below.

March 2020

Installation artist

Nadege Philippe-Janon

March 2020

Interdisciplinary Artist

Jagath Dheerasekara

March 2020

Multimedia artist

Brigita Ozolins

March 2020

Multimedia Artist

Dexter Rosengrave

March 2020

Artist, commercial diver, and astronaut candidate

Sarah Jane Pell

March 2020

Filmmaker and artist

James Newitt

March 2020

Multimedia and installation artist

Jacob Leary

March 2020


Suryo Herlambang

February 2019

Rosie with Horizonatl adjusted 010319.jpg

Director announcement

Creative director Rosie Dennis announced

Rosie Dennis has been selected as the Creative Director for the inaugural Hobart Current. Rosie Dennis creates complex contemporary performance works that have a strong connection to place and the everyday. Rosie has presented various works at more than twenty-five festivals across Europe and the UK.